Dr. Gerald Edelist Award

Dr. Gerald EdelistDr. Gerald Edelist Established in 1996, the Dr. Gerald Edelist Award is awarded to a faculty member in recognition of excellence as a clinical teacher of residents in anesthesia. Dr. Edelist was the 5th Chair of the Department of Anesthesia, serving the University of Toronto from 1988-1993. This award is given to a department faculty member who is judged to be an outstanding teacher of residents in our program. It may be given annually if the selection committee identifies a worthy recipient. An individual may receive this award only once in any ten year period.

Nomination criteria may include:

  • An excellent teaching record over at least three years
  • Excellence in clinical teaching, lectures, and seminars
  • Demonstrated interest and activity to improve teaching
  • Development of innovations to improve learning
  • Involvement in educational research
  • Active involvement in educational committees and/or administration

Members of the Department of Anesthesia are invited to nominate candidates. Residents wishing assistance in a nominations should contact their hospital coordinator.


2019  Eric You-Ten & Nick Lo

2018 Drs. Katherine Marseu and James Kulchyk

2017 Dr, Beverly Morningstar

2016  Dr. Alayne Kealey

2015  Dr. Aliya Salman

2014  Dr. Henderson Lee

2013  Dr. Brian Pollard 

2012  Dr. Sophia Wong

2011  Dr. Elaine Ng 

2010  Dr. Karen McRae 

2009  Dr. Jeffrey Wassermann

2008  Dr. James Teresi

2007  Dr. Viren Naik

2006  Dr. Patricia Murphy

2005  Dr. David J. McKnight

2004  Dr. Mary Ellen Cooke

2003  Dr. Mark Levine

2002  Dr. Marianne Graham

2001  Dr. Ronald Crago

2000  Dr. Joseph Kay

1999  Dr. Robert Creighton

1998  Dr. Irene McGhee

1997  Dr. Patricia Houston

1996  Dr. Chiddam Ananthananrayan

1995  Dr. Alan Laws (posthumous)